Special notice

The National Hurricane Center has advised that Tropical Storm Erika has dissipated. More information.

Faculty Member and Outstanding Teacher of the Year Announced

Valeria Fabj and Robert Watson recognized for their accomplishments in and out of the classroom

Published Jun. 14, 2010

This year, Valeria Fabj, a professor of communication, media and politics, and Robert Watson, an associate professor of American studies, were honored for their dedication to teaching at Lynn University. Fabj was nominated for and selected by her peers as the 2009-10 Faculty Member of the Year. Watson was named the Outstanding Teacher of the Year by Lynn’s Student Government Association (SGA).

Faculty Member of the Year – Valeria Fabj

Lynn University’s Office of Academic Affairs named Fabj the 2009-10 Faculty Member of the Year at the year’s final session of academic council on May 18. She was nominated and selected for the award based on her teaching effectiveness, scholarly and research activity, and service to the Lynn and greater community.

“Dr. Fabj is a superb teacher and mentor to students,” said vice president for academic affairs Cynthia Patterson. “She is a nationally recognized scholar, who this past year was named editor of a major, prestigious journal, Women and Communications, and she is a leader within the faculty in terms of service to the Lynn community serving as chair of the faculty promotions committee, and program chair of communication, media and politics.”

Fabj teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate level courses related to communication theory, rhetoric, persuasion, gender communication and social change in Lynn’s College of International Communication. She is an expert on communication and advocacy with an emphasis on how traditionally marginalized groups can gain a public voice and bring about social change.

According to Patterson, “Fabj is held in high esteem for not only for her accomplishments but also for her generosity of spirit and dedication to the university.”

Finalists also nominated for this year’s Faculty Member of the Year award include: Lisa Dandeo (fashion management) in the College of Business and Management, Farideh Farazmand (international business) in the College of Business and Management, and Jill Levenson (human services) in the College of Liberal Education. All nominees were selected based on votes cast by the deans of the university’s five academic colleges, Conservatory of Music, School of Aeronautics and Institute for Achievement, as well as by a vote by the nominees’ faculty peers.

Outstanding Teacher of the Year – Robert Watson

Robert Watson, B.S., M.P.A., Ph.D.The Student Government Association (SGA) named Watson the 2009-10 “Outstanding Teacher of the Year” at the undergraduate commencement ceremony on May 8. Patterson and SGA President, Mohamed Abdalla, presented Watson with the award.

“Dr. Watson is a popular and personable member of the faculty in the College of Liberal Education,” said Patterson. “Students describe his classes as engaging and dynamic and value his willingness to work with them in and outside of the classroom.”

Watson teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate level courses related to American history, American politics and government, campaigns / elections and media politics, race and gender issues and environmental politics and history. He is one of the foremost experts and authors on first ladies, presidents, and Florida politics and voting issues.